Production

Made in Germany

Transparent and sustainable production conditions have become an important purchase criterion for increasing numbers of customers. What exactly "Made in Germany" means, however, is a matter of debate, as the term is not clearly defined.

We’d like to show you how and where we produce, and why our products really do merit the "Made in Germany" seal of approval.             

Step 1: Cotton… a fantastic raw material

The majority of our products are made from cotton. Cotton is a wonderful raw material, but unfortunately it doesn’t grow in Germany. We source our high-quality single and ply cotton yarns, and our ultrafine elastane thread from a small circle of German yarn dealers. The cotton is grown mainly in India and the United States, while the processing of cotton into a single or ply yarn mostly takes place in India or Turkey.

Our single and ply yarns are delivered to us wrapped on large rolls or cones. They come in their original colour: a natural white.

Our elastane threads come from Asia and are also produced in accordance with OEKO-TEX® Standard 100.

What defines our quality in this step:

  • Length of cotton fibres: We use especially long to medium length fibres. The longer the cotton fibre, the better the quality.
  • Combed cotton: this removes any remnants of husk and other contaminants, and realigns the fibres.
  • Ply cotton yarn: particularly fine and even single cotton yarn is produced and twisted together to create a robust and hardwearing ply yarn.

 

  • Compact yarn: unlike conventional yarn, here the fibre ends are compacted into the yarn. This prevents break points in the thread and results in a smooth surface that prevents balls developing, otherwise known as pilling.
  • Gassing: also known as singeing, this step removes any protruding filaments using a flame, making the yarn more uniform and removing the last protruding fibre ends so as to prevent pilling.

                                              

Step 2: Our fabrics are knitted

Our single and ply cotton yarns are all knitted in Germany – in the same knitting rooms as they have been for decades. Hundreds of cones of yarn are attached to a knitting machine and thousands of knitting needles work in unison. As part of the process, single or ply cotton yarn is combined with an ultrafine elastane thread and knitted together to create an elastic jersey fabric. The elastane thread is so fine that the proportion of elastane makes up no more than 4% of the fabric!

The outstanding elasticity of our products – the perfect interplay of stretchiness and elastic recovery – is why our fitted sheets give you such a perfect, crease-free fit. This elasticity is created by carefully combining cotton and elastane in the knitting process (also known as elastomeric plating) and by a high-quality knit with a particularly large number of very fine stitches.

What defines our quality in this step:

  • Modern knitting production in Germany
  • Very small and fine knitted stitches
  • Addition of ultrafine, extremely elastic, tear-resistant, elastane threads

Step 3: Dyeing and finishing our fabrics

Our next step is dyeing and finishing our fabrics here in Germany. We continually improve our modern facilities to guarantee the high quality of our products, and also to ensure that our production process is a sustainable and environmentally friendly one.

The finishing of our fabrics is a highly complex process, because we want to retain their special softness, their uniform, close-meshed surface and elasticity despite washing, bleaching, dyeing, drying, etc. Our fabrics undergo a specially developed textile finishing process. The tubular fabric is finished very gently before being cut. A typical feature of this finishing process is the centrefold or pleat mark: a fine crease that runs down the centre of our sheets and that gradually disappears when you begin using the sheet.

Our sustainable textile finishing conditions:

  • Implementing the European Chemicals Regulation REACH
  • Quality is produced and certified according to OEKO-TEX® Standard 100
  • Our production site is certified in accordance with ISO 9001

What defines our quality in this step:

  • Textile finishing in Germany
  • Latest technology that is gentle to fabrics and the environment
  • Tubular finishing
  • Centrefold through the centre of our sheets

Step 4: Making / sewing our fitted sheets

Our products are made in Germany or in our factory in the neighbouring region of Alsace. Recently, a family sewing business in Slovakia has also become one of our trusted partners.

The bale goods are laid out, cut, sewn, checked, folded and packed.

What defines our quality in this step:

  • High-quality brand rubber for the elasticated border
  • Strict approval criteria for seams and fabric surface quality
  • Manual control of each and every single sheet

We choose not to outsource even the labour-intensive production step of sewing to low-wage countries.

Step 5: Warehousing and dispatch from the Black Forest

Finally, our finished products are stored at our main warehouse in the German Black Forest and are dispatched from here. Our warehouse is so well stocked that we can deliver a whole range of different colours and sizes immediately.

In September 2016, a fire spread to our warehouse from a neighbouring property. This was extremely bad luck for us, but it could have been much worse. Nobody was hurt and we were able to save a lot of our stock. For the last two years, we have continued to operate our warehouse in a rather improvised manner while rebuilding the sections that were destroyed. We made the best of an unfortunate situation and have completely modernised our warehouse and equipped it with the latest software and hardware.

                                             

When can you say ‘Made in Germany’?

For the consumer, the ‘Made in Germany’ claim is a difficult one to assess. There is no clear legal proviso as to how many product components must actually come from Germany, or which part of the production process must take place in Germany for this quality seal to be awarded. However, we believe that this promise is one that must stand up in a court of law.

We trust we were able to explain our production process to you in a comprehensible and transparent way. And we hope we managed to convince you that our products fully deserve their ‘Made in Germany’ label.

Where do you want to buy?

With qualified advice from an authorized retailer

* Currently it is not possible to retrieve the stock of individual retailers. We ask for your understanding.

Herstellung

Made in Germany

Transparente und nachhaltige Produktionsbedingungen sind für immer mehr Verbraucher ein wichtiges Kaufkriterium. Doch das Gütesiegel "Made in Germany" ist umstritten, denn der Begriff ist dehnbar und nicht klar definiert. 

Wir zeigen Ihnen im Folgenden, wie und wo wir produzieren und warum unsere Produkte das Siegel "Made in Germany" wirklich verdienen.

Schritt 1: Baumwolle …. ein wunderbarer Rohstoff

Der Großteil unserer Produkte besteht aus Baumwolle.  Baumwolle ist ein wunderbarer Rohstoff, aber er wächst leider nicht in Deutschland. Wir beziehen unsere hochwertigen Baumwollgarne und -zwirne sowie auch die ultrafeinen Elastanfäden von einem kleinen Kreis deutscher Garnhändler. Die Baumwolle wurde überwiegend in Indien und USA angebaut. Die Aufbereitung der Baumwolle zu einem Garn oder Zwirn findet  auch überwiegend in Indien oder der Türkei statt.

Bei uns kommen die Garne & Zwirne auf große Rollen gewickelt, sogenannten Konen, an. In Ihrer Ursprungsfarbe - Naturweiß.

Unsere Elastanfäden stammen aus Asien. Auch sie werden selbstverständlich nach dem OEKO-TEX® Standard 100 produziert.

Unsere Qualitätsmerkmale bei diesem Schritt:

  • Die Länge der Baumwollfasern: wir nehmen ausschließlich besonders lange oder mittellange Fasern. Je länger eine Baumwollfaser ist umso besser.
  • Gekämmte Baumwolle: hier werden Schalenreste und andere Verunreinigungen entfernt und die Fasern wieder gerade zueinander ausgerichtet.
  • Baumwollzwirn: für den besonders reißfesten, strapazierfähigen Zwirn werden zunächst besonders gleichmäßige und feine Baumwollgarne hergestellt und dann miteinander verdreht.
     
  • Kompaktgarn: hier werden, im Gegensatz zu üblichem Garn, die Faserenden kompakt im Faden eingearbeitet / versteckt. So gibt es keine Angriffsfläche für Knötchen, das sogenannte Pilling oder Bruchstellen im Faden.
  • Gasierung: durch die Gasierung, bei der überstehende Härchen mit einer Flamme entfernt werden, wird der Zwirn noch gleichmäßiger und auch die letzten herausstehenden Faserenden werden entfernt. Genau solche überstehenden Faserenden bilden gerne Knötchen, das sogenannte Pilling.

Schritt 2: Unsere Stoffe werden gestrickt

Unsere Baumwollgarne & -zwirne verstricken wir ausschließlich in Deutschland, und zwar seit Jahrzehnten in den gleichen Stricksälen. An einer Strickmaschine sind hunderte Garnkonen gleichzeitig aufgespannt und tausende von Stricknadeln arbeiten zusammen. Hierbei werden die Baumwollgarne oder -zwirne mit einem ultrafeinen Elastanfaden zusammengeführt und zu einem elastischen Jersey- Stoff verstrickt. Dabei macht der Elastananteil maximal 4% des Produktes aus, so fein sind die Fäden!  

Die herausragende Elastizität unserer Produkte, wir sprechen auch von dem Zusammenspiel aus Dehnbarkeit und Rücksprungkraft, ist die Voraussetzung für den faltenfreien und perfekten Sitz unserer Spannbettlaken auf den Matratzen. Diese Elastizität entsteht durch die kunstvolle Verbindung von Baumwolle und Elastan im Strickprozess (sog. Plattieren) und durch die hochwertige Strickart mit besonders vielen, kleinen Maschen.

Unsere Qualitätsmerkmale bei diesem Schritt:

  • moderne Strickerei in Deutschland
  • sehr feine und kleine Strickmaschen
  • Hinzugabe von ultrafeinen, hochelastischen und sehr reißfesten Elastanfäden

Schritt 3: Die Veredelung und Färbung unserer Stoffe

Im nächsten Schritt werden unsere Stoffe in Deutschland veredelt und gefärbt. Hierfür wurde kontinuierlich in äußerst moderne Anlagen investiert, um die Qualität der Produkte zu garantieren, aber auch nachhaltig und umweltschonend zu produzieren.

Die Textilveredelung unsere Stoffe ist ein hochkomplexer Prozess, denn die besondere Weichheit, die gleichmäßige, engmaschige Oberfläche und die Elastizität müssen trotz waschen, bleichen, färben, trocknen etc. erhalten bleiben. Dafür durchlaufen unsere Stoffe ein speziell entwickeltes Stoffveredelungsverfahren. Dabei wird die Ware auf besonders schonende Weise im Schlauch behandelt. Typisch für dieses Veredelungsverfahren ist die sogenannte „Bugfalte“ oder „Bugmarkierung“. Das ist eine feine Falte ungefähr in der Mitte unserer Laken, die beim Gebrauch des Betttuchs nach und nach verschwindet.

Unsere nachhaltigen Textilveredelungsbedingungen:

  • Die Europäische Chemikalienverordnung REACH wird umgesetzt. 
  • Die Qualität wird nach Öko-Tex 100 Standard produziert und zertifiziert.
  • der Standort ist zertifiziert nach ISO 9001.

Unsere Qualitätsmerkmale bei diesem Schritt:

  • Textilveredelung in Deutschland
  • modernste Technik, die Stoffe und Umwelt schonend behandelt
  • Schlauchausrüstung
  • "Bugfalte" in der Mitte unserer Laken

Schritt 4: Die Konfektion / das Nähen der Spannbettlaken

Wir konfektionieren, das heißt nähen, unsere Produkte in Deutschland oder in unserem Konfektionsbetrieb im benachbarten Elsass. Mittlerweile gehört auch ein familiengeführter Nähbetrieb in der Slowakei zu unseren Partnern.

Die Ballenware wird ausgelegt, zugeschnitten, genäht, kontrolliert, gefaltet und schließlich verpackt.

Unsere Qualitätsmerkmale bei diesem Schritt:

  • hochwertiges Markengummi aus Kautschuk für den Rundumbund
  • sehr hohe Abnahmekriterien an die Qualität der Nähte und der Stofffläche
  • manuelle Kontrolle jedes einzelnen Betttuches

Selbst die personalintensive Produktionsstufe des Nähens haben wir nicht in Niedriglohn-Länder verlagert.

Schritt 5: Lager und Versand im Schwarzwald

Die fertigen Produkte schließlich lagern alle in unserem Hauptstandort im Hochschwarzwald und werden von hier aus verschickt. Unser Lager ist so reich bestückt, dass wir unterschiedlichste Farben und Größen sofort liefern können.

Im September 2016 griff ein Feuer auf einem benachbarten Grundstück auf unser Lager über. Wir hatten Glück im Unglück. Niemand wurde verletzt und wir konnten viel Ware retten. Über 2 Jahre haben wir unseren Lager-Betrieb improvisiert aufrechterhalten und die zerstörten Teile der Halle wieder aufgebaut. Wir haben das Beste aus der Situation gemacht und unser Lager rundum modernisiert und mit neuster Software und Hardware ausgestattet.

Ab wann darf man "Made in Germany" sagen?

„Made in Germany“ ist eine für den Endverbraucher schwer zu kontrollierende Aussage und es gibt auch keine eindeutige Gesetzesregelung, wie viele Komponenten eines Produktes tatsächlich aus Deutschland zu stammen haben, bzw. welcher Teil des Produktionsprozesses in Deutschland stattfinden muss, damit das Gütesiegel verwendet werden darf. 
Allerdings muss das Werbeversprechen einer gerichtlichen Überprüfung standhalten können. 

Wir hoffen, wir konnten Ihnen unsere Produktionsbedingungen verständlich und transparent darlegen und Sie davon überzeugen, dass unsere Produkte das Label "Made in Germany" verdienen.

Wo möchten Sie kaufen?

Mit qualifizierter Beratung bei einem autorisierten Fachhändler

Gleich online bestellen

* Aktuell ist ist es nicht möglich den Lagerbestand einzelner Händler abzurufen. Wir bitten um Verständnis.